ussrcollection

The Auction Continued

In Auctions on December 20, 2008 at 7:54 pm

It’s been over  a week since I emailed about The New York Sale, and days since I resent the email and copied the auction house themselves (SixBid). Nothing. No response. Wanting to drop a couple grand in their auction doesn’t appear to catch their attention.

Medal Buying 101: see what you’re buying before you buy. Though I have confidence that Markov is not flogging a fake group I’m just not willing to buy before seeing more detail. Given the detailed pics on his site I’m surprised by the lack of response; he obviously understands the importance of them when it comes to making a sale.

And the auction has been discussed on one of my favorite boards, with the small consensus being that Markov is probably the Devil. Or at least a close relation.

It’s interesting. On the two collecting boards I frequent people are loath to just come out and say that so-and-so is a shyster. Loath to the point of not doing it. When it does come up it’s rapidly shut down by the old timers, the multi-thousand post members. It’s all very hush-hush; the despised are not spoken of. The most cogent explanation I can find is this thread where Markov’s time sense is indicted. Though others say he’s fine. Mixed reviews to be sure. But mostly just silence broken by snide remarks and innuendo.

I wonder if this lack of open communication about “the community” is common in other hobbies? Probably. Insider gossip and such is rife whereever people gather. The difference here, in my experience, is the amount of money involved, which makes information much more valuable in real life terms. I also suspect the lack of talk about folks has a Soup Nazi side to it. With such a limited supply to be cut off from a dealer could be, well, death for a collector.

Anyway, I’ll give it till after Christmas then send some more emails.

Leave a comment